SN VPN Client Exclusive features a unique VPN connection management mode known as the USB mode.
In this mode, the VPN configuration is securely stored on a removable storage device (USB drive). The VPN connection is established automatically as soon as the USB drive is inserted and closed when the USB drive is removed. No VPN security elements are stored on the workstation from which the VPN connection is opened.
Hereinafter, the USB drive containing the VPN configuration will be referred to as “VPN USB drive”.
Configuring the USB mode
The USB mode is configured using the Configuration Wizard available from the Configuration > Move to USB drive menu of the Configuration Panel.
Step 1: Choosing a USB drive
Screen 1 allows you to choose the removable storage device (USB drive) to use to protect the VPN configuration.
If a drive is already inserted, it is automatically displayed in the list of available USB drives.
Otherwise, simply insert the selected USB drive at this stage. It will be detected automatically as soon as it is inserted.
No USB drive inserted
USB drive already inserted
The USB mode only allows you to protect a single VPN configuration on a USB drive. If there already is a VPN configuration on the inserted USB drive, the following warning will be displayed:
If an empty USB drive is inserted and it is the only drive inserted into the workstation, the wizard will automatically proceed to step 2.
Step 2: Protecting the VPN configuration in USB mode
The following two protections are available:
Pairing with the user’s workstation:
The option With this computer only is no longer available in the current version of the software (the option is grayed out).
The USB VPN configuration can be uniquely paired to the workstation from which it originates.
The VPN USB drive cannot be paired with a specific workstation, but it can be used on any workstation on which the VPN Client is installed.
The USB VPN configuration can be password-protected.
In this case, the password will be required every time the VPN USB drive is inserted.
Step 3: Automatically opening the tunnel
The wizard allows you to configure which VPN connections are opened automatically every time the VPN USB drive is inserted.
Step 4: Summary
The summary gives you the opportunity to check whether the VPN USB drive has been properly configured.
Once this final step is confirmed, the workstation’s VPN configuration is transferred onto the USB drive.
It remains enabled for as long as the USB drive is inserted. When the VPN USB drive is removed, the VPN Client will revert to an empty VPN configuration.
Using the USB mode
After starting SN VPN Client Exclusive, regardless of whether a VPN configuration is loaded, insert the VPN USB drive. The following information window is automatically displayed:
Once the prompt has been confirmed, the USB VPN configuration is loaded automatically and, where appropriate, the corresponding tunnel(s) is (are) opened automatically. A “USB mode” icon is shown in the top-right corner of the tree on the Configuration Panel when the USB mode is enabled:
The VPN connections running in USB mode automatically close when the VPN USB drive is removed. The VPN configuration contained in the USB drive is removed from the workstation. (If a VPN configuration had already been set on the workstation before the USB drive was inserted, it will be restored in the software.)
- SN VPN Client Exclusive can only take into account a single VPN USB drive at a time. As long as a VPN USB drive is inserted, any additional VPN USB drives that are inserted will not be taken into account
- The import function is disabled in USB mode.
The VPN configuration can be edited in USB mode. Any changes made to the VPN configuration are saved to the VPN USB drive.
The VPN Client does not provide any function to directly change the password or the pairing with a workstation. In order to change these parameters, follow the steps below:
- Insert the VPN USB drive.
- Export the VPN configuration.
- Remove the VPN USB drive.
- Import the VPN configuration exported in step 2.
- Reload the USB mode wizard with this configuration and the desired new parameters.