Managing personal address books
- Whenever you are protecting or sharing a file, you need to select the users who will have access to the protected file.
- When there are too many users in your personal address book and you wish to delete those you no longer need.
When a file is being protected, a window will appear, showing your personal address book (My address book). It contains the list of users with whom you have exchanged protected files.
You do not need to do anything manually to add users to your address book; it updates automatically every time you protect or share a file with a new user.
If you wish to add a user who does not work in the same company as yours and who is not known to SDS for C&M, refer to the section Adding unknown users in SDS for C&M;
- When a file is being protected, a window will appear, showing My address book. This address book contains all the users with whom you have previously exchanged protected files.
- If you do not find a user in the list, enter the first few letters of his name in the Search for user field, then click on the icon. Your company's global address book will be queried.
The list of users with names that match the search criteria will appear; you can then select the user of your choice to protect the file. This user will appear automatically in your personal address book from now on.
If you cannot find a user in the list, refer to the section Users cannot be found in the list.
- Protect a file in order to display the window that shows your personal address book.
- In the My address book column, move your mouse over the user that you wish to delete from your personal address book. The icon on the left will become a cross.
- Click on the cross and confirm.
The user then disappears from your personal address book. You can always display this user again by entering his name in the Search for user field.
If you are using SDS for C&M with SDS Enterprise, you will not be able to delete users this way. You need to do so through the SDS Enterprise address book.