Recommendations

We advise you to apply the following recommendations for optimum use of the SDS for C&M 3.3 solution, as they are directly linked to the operating context in which the SDS for C&M solution evolves.

Migrating SDS for C&M 3.2 to SDS for C&M 3.3

Unlike version 3.2, version 3.3 assigns a single password for all devices (workstations and mobile devices) to SDS for C&M accounts. User accounts must be migrated from your SDS for C&M client before this feature can be enabled. Mobile devices cannot be used for migration operations.
With SDS Enterprise

  1. During the initial connection to SDS for C&M, the SDS Enterprise connection window appears. Enter your SDS Enterprise login and password.
  2. In the migration window, enter the password to your SDS for C&M account, and click on Next.
    The migration process begins.
  3. Log in to your SDS for C&M account with the password entered earlier.

Without SDS Enterprise

  1. Log in to SDS for C&M with the credentials for your local account.
  2. In the migration window, enter a new password to your SDS for C&M account, and click on Next.
    The migration process begins.
  3. Log in to your SDS for C&M account with the password entered earlier.

Only one device can be migrated for each user account. If you have SDS for C&M accounts on other workstations, you need to delete them manually. To do so, delete the folder of the user in %localappdata%\Stormshield\Stormshield Data Security\Users .

SDS for C&M accounts are automatically deleted on mobile devices when the SDS for C&M application is upgraded. Protected files will be kept.

Particular case: users who have an SDS for C&M account but have never used the application from their workstations cannot be migrated. The administrator must delete such users from the SDMC web administration interface. These users will then need to manually delete their account folders in %localappdata%\Stormshield\Stormshield Data Security\Users

As soon as the migration operation is complete, and all secondary accounts have been deleted, you can log in with your single password from any of your devices.

Using shared spaces

To modify shared files in online shared spaces, we recommend that users work in their synchronized Microsoft OneDrive for Business or Microsoft SharePoint Online work spaces. As such, in the event of simultaneous access to the same file, the synchronizer will resolve any potential conflicts.

Sharing files in OneDrive for Business

Whenever you share files in a Onedrive for Business synchronized space, you need to select sharing for Specific persons. This would allow SDS for C&M to retrieve the list of users who have access to the link, and to automatically suggest this list in the column of authorized users.

OneDrive and the Microsoft Office Suite

For optimum automatic protection of Office files in a OneDrive space, unselect the Use Office 2016 to sync Office files that I open option from the Office tab in the synchronizer properties.

SDS for C&M application on Android

To avoid issues during the creation/retrieval of your account or connection, set the location to High accuracy.

Padlock icon on protected folders

If you are installing Office (from version 2013 onwards) and OneDrive together before you install SDS for C&M, the padlock icon will not be visible on protected folders.

There are two ways to make these icons appear:

  • Install Office without OneDrive. For more information, refer to the section "ExcludeApp element" at this page.
  • As an administrator, add one or several spaces before the name of the following registry key so that it will be placed above the existing keys in the tree: HKLM/SOFTWARE/Microsoft/Windows/CurrentVersion/Explorer/ShellIconOverlayIdentifiers/PhoenixOverlayIconHandler. Restart Explorer in order to apply the change.

Google Drive Backup and Sync

SDS for C&M cannot automatically protect files configured to be continuously backed up by Google. To protect such a file, first make a copy to a folder which is not backed up, then move this copy to your Google Drive. Open your Google Drive synchronizer Preferences to identify the folders that are backed up by Google.

Updating clients

Update clients on a regular basis to take advantage of all upgrades and bug fixes.

Before updating a macOS Client, first close SDS for C&M.